Indian Copper Complex

Indian Copper Complex (ICC) at Ghatsila, Jharkhand

Singhbhum Copper Belt comprises of a Proterozoic volcano-sedimentary rock that creates a shear zone known as Singhbhum shear zone. Copper mineralization in SCB is localized along this shear zone. Prominent deposits of the belt are Chapri, Rakha, Surda, Kendadih, Pathargora and Dhobani. Other deposits are: Turamdih, Ramchandrapahar, Nandup, Bayanbil and Dhadkidih (Singhbhum, Jharkhand).


Indian Copper Corporation Ltd was established by a British company in 1930 at Ghatsila consisting of a cluster of underground copper mines, concentrator plants and smelter. On 25.09.72 the Govt. of India nationalized the company under provisions of the Indian Copper Corporation (Acquisition of Undertaking Act) and merged the same with HCL. Today it falls under the sate of Jharkhand, under the jurisdiction of east Singbhum district.

Existing Infrastructure

  • Established in 1930
  • Operating Mine: Surda~26 MT @ 1.20% Cu
  • Process plants to produce 19,000 TPA of refined copper

Ore Reserves including resources:

Additional mining reserves (old mines):

Rakha Mine           47.19 million tonnes @ 0.97% copper
Kendadih Mine            12.85 million tonnes @ 1.73% copper
Chapri Block           63.50 million tonnes @ 1.14% Cu